Ministry Update – Two

Now is the only time we’re given

The moment we look at any moment in our past as the pinnacle of our life is the moment when we start our slow, painful decent to hopelessness. What if the best is still ahead? What if we really do move from glory to glory? What if there is no end to the revelation, opportunity, wonder, and adventure in this life and the next?! What if there is always fresh bread, new every morning? What if there is always enough in the house of God? What if God is the same today as He was yesterday, only today I’m different and get to learn about Him in a new way?

If you read the first ministry update in this series a week ago (click here) about what God has been doing in our lives, you have seen God’s faithfulness and promotion in our lives over the last few months. I’m not content with what God has done, although I am extremely grateful. If the moments of God’s intervention in my past are monuments, then let them be signs pointing into today, where God will show up again and again.

I’ve heard it said that the word “testimony” has a connotation of “do it again.” As if by giving our testimony of how God has worked before, we are asking him to work again in our present situation. I love that! We aren’t pointing backwards trying to tell people who God was, we are using the past to point us to right now, asking him to do something here. I find it easier to talk about what God has done, or will do, but to say that God is doing is somewhat intimidating because we come face-to-face with the reality of today.

So, let me tell you what God is doing today. Today, literally, Michelle and I were appointed Elders at our church, Substance. Now, I’m only 28 years old, so either we really do have a super young church (which we do) or there’s more to being an Elder than simply being old.

Although it seems weird and almost arrogant, I wasn’t very surprised when we were asked to take up this position. I felt as if God has been communicating that message to me for a while already. I remember thinking, “You know, it would be just like God if I ended up being an Elder at Substance.” It seemed to go right in line with what God had put on my heart and confirmed through a prophetic word regarding spiritual fatherhood. I love how God works.

Honestly, although I wasn’t too surprised, I am deeply humbled and super excited to be in this role. My primary peace-time duty (as opposed to if anything starts getting “funky” in the church) is to simply pastor the people of the church where I am able. I love that. I love the people that God is wooing to Himself. I love that I get to be a part of that process and I don’t have to sit on the bench and watch. I love that I’ve been empowered and enabled to do that far before I had an official title in the church (God, help me be humble now that I have a title!). I love being a missionary to the American church.

So, pray for us. Michelle and I both want to be faithful with what we’ve been given. The position of Elder spans throughout church history back into biblical times. To be connected to such a lineage of tradition and history is invigorating to say the least. To think about the body of Christ being unified across generations and generation is simply exciting. To walk in the tradition of so many men and women of faith is inspiring.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus.

So, today I was appointed an Elder. Tomorrow must have something super awesome in store for this child of God.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Nathan Banker

Nathan, Michelle and their two sons are occupational ministers in the Twin Cities. They do spiritual mentoring, a form of prayer ministry call Prayer Resolution and help run a small church-like community called Immerse. They dream of changing the world, one person at a time.

4 responses to “Ministry Update – Two”

  1. Mike Banker says :

    Well Timothy wasn’t old in years either, but was true to his faith. That’s what makes someone an elder. Congratulations to the two of you. I will pray for wisdom and direction by God’s Spirit.

  2. Kurt says :

    Nate and Michelle, we are so proud of both of you! CONGRATULATIONS. What a blessing for your church and know the hearts you both have will be very welcomed and encouragement for others to follow. Looking forward to Thanksgiving! Love Grandpa Kurt and Grandma Helen

Leave a Reply

I Am the Lizard Queen!

Bloggy Goodness from Rufel F. Ramos

The Cynic Testifies

Catholic. catholic?

Public Theology

Theology in the public, for the public.

Micah J. Murray

Redemption Pictures

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Know the Truth

Holding forth the light of truth in a world of darkness.

The Centrality and Supremacy of Jesus Christ

The Website & Blog of David D. Flowers

Prayer Resolution

The "PR" community site

i m m e r s e

Serving the global Body of Christ so that it can be as mature, healthy and effective as possible.

glenn|siepert

faith, preaching and leadership

