Mohawk

If you haven’t seen me in my new haircut, keep reading. I will make sure to post a picture. I have been in the military for nearly 9 years now. The craziest thing I have been able to do with my hair during that time is grow it out, un-touched, for a month (sometimes two) and let my facial hair grow wild in between drill weekends. I have grown fairly comfortable with my reserved, conservative, clean, non-rebellious, traditional hair.

So, why the mohawk off of a sudden? Well, for one, to celebrate being out of the military and free to do whatever I want with my hair now. But, as I was cutting it, I realized that there are a lot of underlying things here that have been an interesting and important process for me to think through and experience.

I would love to be able to say that I am not at all seeking attention with hair cut. I would hate to appear to be self-centered, attention-seeking and concerned about man’s acceptance over God’s (what my friends and I loving call the man-pleasing spirit). The truth is, though, that I am actually seeking attention. And, that’s the hard part for me. It’s not really the attention I want. I would rather be considered a brilliant theologian (I’ve got a way to go there), a respectable Elder, a mentor and leader in the church, a put-together young man, an experienced prayer counselor, a dignified teacher, or a mature husband and to-be father. But, this hair cut comes with certain assumptions that I have to be okay with. “Rebel”, “Wild”, “Immature”, “Unstable”, “Unintelligent”, “Crazy”, “Bold” (I like that one!), and “Insincere” are some of the terms that I could see easily being associated with this hair cut. Kind of crazy how many assumptions we can make about people based simply on their hair-style.

So, in fact, this hair cut thing is more of an attempt to kill the man-pleasing spirit than foster it.

Alas, I will have to cut the mohawk for my one last drill next month. Then… what? Anything I want to, that’s what!

Okay, decided against a picture. This called for something more… something greater… something entirely inappropriate and hilarious! Enjoy:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Nathan Banker

Nathan, Michelle and their two sons are occupational ministers in the Twin Cities. They do spiritual mentoring, a form of prayer ministry call Prayer Resolution and help run a small church-like community called Immerse. They dream of changing the world, one person at a time.

One response to “Mohawk”

  1. Kurt says :

    Good morning “Nate-the-Great
    I can appreciate the freedom represented in what your doing, wish I had that option! Off to see what I can do to support my candidates. Love Grandpa Kurt

Leave a Reply

I Am the Lizard Queen!

Bloggy Goodness from Rufel F. Ramos

The Cynic Testifies

Catholic. catholic?

Public Theology

Theology in the public, for the public.

Micah J. Murray

Redemption Pictures

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Know the Truth

Holding forth the light of truth in a world of darkness.

The Centrality and Supremacy of Jesus Christ

The Website & Blog of David D. Flowers

Prayer Resolution

The "PR" community site

i m m e r s e

Serving the global Body of Christ so that it can be as mature, healthy and effective as possible.

glenn|siepert

faith, preaching and leadership

