Holding nothing back

Two years ago I came back from my last deployment, intentionally not returning to my amazing job at a non-profit where I invested in youth who were having a hard time graduating.

God had told me to pursue ministry full-time.

As in, an occupation.

As in, don’t make your own money, but trust Him for money.

As in, put everything on the line and trust the Unseen to supply the very seen, and felt, needs.

As in, trust someone else to be better at taking care of you, your wife and your baby than you are.

Someone else whom you read about, see dimly, but struggle to remember what His presence feels like and what his faithfulness looks like when you’re not experiencing it at the moment.

Trust that Guy.

You might not be able to pay your bills.

You might lose your home.

You probably won’t be able to buy that gadget.

You might not be able to buy your wife a Christmas gift even though you would love to love her that way.

You might have to cash out your retirement funds.

Your bank account might dry up.

And… then what?

You have spent your time and energy following God and investing in others. Who will invest in you?

I can’t imagine that God is a worse Father than I am…” -Hudson Taylor (paraphrased)

For two years I haven’t told anyone my needs. I have provided a way for them to give if God told them to. George Muller did it for 60 something years. Hudson Taylor financed a revolutionary missionary society that way. Rees Howells, the great intercessor, learned to trust God in this way over the course of his life.

I did it for two years.

Now, I think God is telling me to ask for people to support me. So, here I am.

Read my Support Letter here.

Honestly, I wanted to keep going without telling anyone anything and just trusting in prayer alone. But, it would be pride, not obedience at this point to keep that up.

Please ask God if you should support us in prayer or financially.

Screen shot 2014-01-28 at 1.37.26 PM

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Nathan Banker

Nathan, Michelle and their two sons are occupational ministers in the Twin Cities. They do spiritual mentoring, a form of prayer ministry call Prayer Resolution and help run a small church-like community called Immerse. They dream of changing the world, one person at a time.

2 responses to “Holding nothing back”

  1. Interested says :

    Forgive my hesitancy in posting a name. Perhaps my question will reflect the reason I wish to remain anonymous. You say God “told” you to this. John tells us to “test the spirits” (1 John 4:1). Could you share some back story as to how you know God told you to live this way and ask people for money? That line “God told me…” is often used as the ultimate defense and in the context of “Don’t question it.” I’m not saying that’s how you’re using it, just that it raises my suspicions. To say the least your model isn’t New Testamentish where those who are called to ministry are recognized by the church and sent out with the laying on of hands. Perhaps that’s happened. In which case, why is your sending church muzzling the ox while you’re treading the grain (1 Timothy 5:18)?

    • nathanbanker says :

      Great Question! Love your honesty. When God originally called me to ministry I tested that with a community of believers who I was in fellowship with while I deployed overseas. For two years I haven’t asked for money or even told anyone I had any needs, but God has provided all the same. Miraculously even! He’s so faithful. It’s crazy amazing to think about all the ways He has taken care of me.

      Maybe one of the reason God gave me a conviction of not expressing my need or asking for money for two years is so that I could test and see if it really was God behind what I thought he was leading me to do. You would probably have to talk to the people who I have ministered to if you really want to discern the fruit of the ministry and decide whether or not it is from God. My words here won’t satisfy that.

      I have been recognized by both my local church when they appointed me an elder and by a legit licensing agency when they approved my ministry license earlier this month. As for muzzling the ox, you’d have to talk to them about that. I’m simply trying to be faithful to do what I think I should be doing. Up until this month I have not even expressed to my church that I was in need of support, but I am in the that process now.

      Thanks for your questions! And, I’d really appreciate the benefit of the doubt for anything I haven’t addressed sufficiently.

Leave a Reply

I Am the Lizard Queen!

Bloggy Goodness from Rufel F. Ramos

The Cynic Testifies

Catholic. catholic?

Public Theology

Theology in the public, for the public.

Micah J. Murray

Redemption Pictures

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Know the Truth

Holding forth the light of truth in a world of darkness.

The Centrality and Supremacy of Jesus Christ

The Website & Blog of David D. Flowers

Prayer Resolution

The "PR" community site

i m m e r s e

Serving the global Body of Christ so that it can be as mature, healthy and effective as possible.

glenn|siepert

faith, preaching and leadership

